Six months had gone by since I surrendered my life to Jesus and I was still struggling with so much of the “church stuff” that turned me off when I was 18.  But our church had done the Purpose Driven Life study as a congregation and it gave me some hope that hadn’t previously existed.  As the study drew to a close, one of the key points was to find somewhere to plug in & serve.

So on a Wednesday Night in April, I found myself wandering around the church campus praying to God to reveal to me where it was I was supposed to serve.  My wife had already settled into the choir.  My oldest was in the nursery.  So I’m alone, walking around, feeling like I fit in exactly NO WHERE.  After an hour or so of this, I’m started to get really agitated and I’m quickly drawing the conclusion that there’s no point to ANY of this…


24 After Jesus and his disciples arrived in Capernaum, the collectors of the two-drachma temple tax came to Peter and asked, “Doesn’t your teacher pay the temple tax?”

25 “Yes, he does,” he replied.

When Peter came into the house, Jesus was the first to speak. “What do you think, Simon?” he asked. “From whom do the kings of the earth collect duty and taxes—from their own children or from others?”

26 “From others,” Peter answered.

“Then the children are exempt,” Jesus said to him. 27 “But so that we may not cause offense, go to the lake and throw out your line. Take the first fish you catch; open its mouth and you will find a four-drachma coin. Take it and give it to them for my tax and yours.” ~ Matthew 17

What an odd little story we have here…  Does anybody else ever have that feeling reading the bible?… No?… Just me then…

Let’s get some perspective here & see if what happens…  We know that Peter is one of Jesus’s closest peeps… He was one of the Big Three…  Peter, James, & John…  You know… Mount of Transfiguration…  Raising a girl from the dead…  Garden of Gethsemane…  At all of these pivotal moments, Jesus pulls in his closest allies…

But in this story, Peter is having a moment of doubt about his friend.  Jesus offers him an explanation without him even asking, but he knows this is something Peter will have to chew on for a bit…  So he sends him fishing…

DID YOU CATCH IT?…  He sends the FISHERMAN… FISHING… to work out his doubts.  That’s either the best or the worst Inside Joke ever!


And its not like this is the only example of Jesus enjoying a good inside joke with the boys…

Afterward Jesus appeared again to his disciples, by the Sea of Galilee.[a] It happened this way: Simon Peter, Thomas, Nathanael, the sons of Zebedee, and two other disciples were together. “I’m going out to fish,” Simon Peter told them, and they said, “We’ll go with you.” So they went out and got into the boat, but that night they caught nothing.

Early in the morning, Jesus stood on the shore, but the disciples did not realize that it was Jesus.

He called out to them, “Friends, haven’t you any fish?”

“No,” they answered.

He said, “Throw your net on the right side of the boat and you will find some.” When they did, they were unable to haul the net in because of the large number of fish.

Then the disciple whom Jesus loved said to Peter, “It is the Lord!” As soon as Simon Peter heard him say, “It is the Lord,” he wrapped his outer garment around him (for he had taken it off) and jumped into the water. ~ John 21

DID YOU CATCH IT?…  Jesus stands on the shore, but conceals himself from being recognized .  The boys haven’t caught a thing?…  Throw your nets on the other side?…  Remind you of anything?…  Like that other time by the lake?… Peter caught on quickly, that’s for sure…

Have you ever considered that Jesus has a sense of humor?  That may unnerve some of my readers, but seriously?… Where do you think we got it from given the whole Man in His Image thing?…


[PAUSE]  I’m no theologian…  And I certainly don’t intend to dive into anything so deep as The Trinity in this blog post…

But I have this mental image that has stuck with me ever since that night.  It’s Jesus as he turns to the Father & the Spirit with this big sheepish grin and say, “Watch this!”…


So I’m just about to give up and call it a night when I hear it.  At first, I thought maybe I was hearing things… Because there is NO WAY that I am hearing For Whom The Bell Tolls by Metallica coming from the Old Chapel…  There’s just so much wrong with that picture… I mean did the Southern Baptist Convention know about this?…  Was I being punked?…  Like, where is Ashton Kutcher, cause I know he’s around here somewhere?…

Nope…  Just the Youth Praise Band warming up before someone came in & made them get serious about rehearsal…  Which is actually pretty typical as Youth Praise Bands go…

And so through a love of 80’s Metal he drew me in…And launched a journey into Worship Ministry I could have never seen coming… Inside Joke indeed…

