Once upon a time…  We lived in the most magical place…  And it was called Community…

No… I’m not talking about the same thing our friend Webster describes.  That is a pale imitation of what I’m talking about…

And I’m also not talking about that TV show starring Joel McHale… Although that Community was great in a totally different way…

I’m talking about something totally  OTHER here… It’s really hard to define, so let me just give you some examples…

Community is BACK DECK time…  It looks a little different in each season…  Currently, we’re deep into Fire-pit Season for instance…  But some common threads never change…  Relaxing with your closest friends… Unwinding about your week with people that know your heart & your soul…  Losing track of time & finding the kids passed out in the playroom…

Community is having a medical emergency that sidelines one of you in the hospital for a few weeks and your kids think it’s the greatest thing in the world… Because from their point of view, it just looks like endless sleepovers with their besties…

Community is crashing your friends house at 10pm… in your PJ’s…  Because you were both bored & couldn’t sleep…

Community is knowing each other deeply & being known deeply… And choosing to overlook the faults & flaws and love each other anyway…

Community is having mentors that so easily seem to guide you along the most difficult paths of life. Community is having younger people that you have earned the privilege to mentor yourself, even though you doubt your own worthiness to do so.

Community is encouraging each other as we run this race… Be it about work or parenting or dreams or faith…  It’s equal parts building each other up YET ALSO KNOWING that “fixing” isn’t always the priority, but instead simply sitting in the struggle together is what is needed…

Once upon a time lasted about 4 years for us the first time…  3 years the second time…  And life has been almost intolerable outside of those periods ever since…


I was recently sharing some of these thoughts with a new friend & he said… “It was like you were living in Narnia…  and now you’re not…”

Holy Cow Batman!…  That guy just crushed it and barely even knows me!  I mean, honestly… That’s about the most accurate description of how life felt both at the time & ever since.  Life in Deep Community felt like about the closest thing to Eden we get to enjoy on this side of the divide.

And all the moments in between and since, feels JUST LIKE the Penvensie children did trapped here in the “real world”.  Having had a taste of Narnia, the children were unable to accept life “as we know it” here.


Once Upon a Time… Or Narnia as it should be known… Fell apart both times for multiple reasons.  Someone moves… something tragic occurs or nearly occurs…  And The Ring is broken… No wait, that’s Tolkien, not C.S. Lewis… Anyway, things happen an POOF… Narnia is gone.

And I have been so angry about that at some level…  On some level, I’ve cursed at that Wardrobe for ever letting me in… And I’ve cursed at that Wardrobe for kicking me out… And I’ve cursed at that Wardrobe for not letting me back in…  I’m not proud about any of that… Just being honest…

Being in Narnia felt as right as anything has ever felt right in my entire life.  It was life as close to as it was meant to be as we’ll ever experience here on Earth.


So where dear reader does that leave us?…  Well…  I’m a far better person for ever having been to Narnia…  That needs to be recognized.  Also, it has left me with a deep longing that has been positive in two ways…  1)  I have a much greater appreciation of the times I do get with my friends from Narnia.  Its not much time these days, but when we can make it happen, we drink it in deeply.  2)  I’m resolved to fight for it.  While so many circumstances have shifted since our time in Narnia, I know what is at stake.  We are not meant to run this race alone.  In fact, we are opposed in so many ways, its nearly impossible to do so alone.  And so we fight to find our fellow Narnians here in this world.


Just one more thing…  Narnia wasn’t meant to be the final destination…  Perhaps that is why it has proved to be so elusive over the years…

At the end of Voyage of the Dawn Treader, Reepicheep leaves Narnia & enters Aslan’s Country…

dawn-treader-reepicheep-sails-to-aslans-country

You see, there is a place even better than Narnia…  And The King is far too kind to allow us to settle for anything less…

